Settlement & Provenance
Located in Leeds County in the world famous 1000 Islands, the Jewel of Eastern Ontario. The 1000 Islands Region known the world over for more than a century as a world class international tourism destination welcomes visitors from around the globe each and every year.
The first formal record of settlement of the property as pristine wilderness is the recorded Land Grant of 1798 under the reign of George the Third of Great Britain, France & Ireland . Following the American War of Independence in 1776 many Crown Loyalists fled to Upper and Lower Canada. They were subsequently awarded the suffix U.E.L ( United Empire Loyalists ), whereby according to their station they were awarded lands of various size and location.
Such was the case with this 1000 Islands property. Due to Joseph Hay's notable position as The Lieutenant Governor of Detroit this land grant of some 700 acres at the time was awarded to his family in 1798.The property was a premium land grant fronting as it did on the mighty St Lawrence River. Waterways afforded the only practical means of transportation at the time providing access to markets and supplies for early settlers .
Over the course of the years various extended family members held title to the property. In time land was cleared, portions were lost to tax arrears, portions sold and others leased to tenant farmers. In the first census map of 1860 a small dwelling was noted on the property close to the road frontage .... and on the beams of the century old barn still standing on the property is the name of the land tenant of the time Noah Peck who is buried in the cemetery just to the east of the farm .
Finally in 1858 the last of the Hay family connection , Sir Charles Stuart, Baronet, son of Sir James Stuart, Baronet, Chief Justice of Lower Canada , fell heir to the residual lands and retained ownership of them until April 1880 when unmarried and living in London , England, he divested his interest in them to George M. Mac Donnell Attorney at Law in Kingston for $2,000 pounds. The Title was extinguished in 1915 on the death of the last son of Sir James Stuart.
Operated since the early 1800's as an agricultural enterprise the farm provided sustenance for the families of early pioneers and settlers. Subsequently it provided a substantial level of prosperity for late 19th century farmers as evidenced by the construction of this period residence. Circa 1898, the classic Victorian "L" shaped Villa favoured by prosperous land owners in rural agricultural Ontario in the late 1800's stands today a testament to the quality of this unique century home.
Further Info: Contact the Owners. Bruce & Jennifer Henry ,
Tel 613-659-3635 , Cell 613-545-7145
Email: [email protected]